Your Daily* Sexism Digest: Weight Loss > Oscar

18 Aug

Okay, so this isn’t about sexism, but Your Daily* Sexism Digest doesn’t really have to be (I decided just now).  Maybe I should change the name of this feature… any bright ideas?

Anyway, I was reading along at Jezebel, and I happened upon this poop nugget of celebrity news, and it was just too wtf-ey to pass up.  According to Jennifer Hudson, her weight loss is more awesome than her Oscar.

You read that correctly.

Here’s what Margaret Hartmann reports:

She explains that she had an epiphany when an (incredibly rude) interviewer asked her what it was like to be plus-sized in Hollywood. Hudson says, “I looked around, like, Who is she talking to? Oh, me? I’m plus-sized? In the neighborhood I’m from in Chicago, a 16 is normal. But in Hollywood, everyone looks exactly the same, so I stood out.” She adds, “I’m prouder of my weight loss than my Oscar!”

Was it Kate Moss who said that thing about how “nothing tastes as good as skinny feels?”  I think the new weight-loss mantra of the decade is going to be, “Even winning an Oscar sucks if you’re a giant fatass.”

Fuck off, Jennifer Hudson.

Leave a Reply

