Fridays Are Precious

12 Aug

[Image description: A still from the movie “Precious” where Precious is sitting on the bus, looking listlessly out the window, and Gollum (yup – from LOTR) is creepily clinging to the outside… watching her…]

Welcome to my first Fab Friday installment.  That’s a totally awful name for it, but I was in a hurry to come up with something, and there’s nothing that expresses happy-go-lucky and fancy-free like alliteration.  HENCE!

Fab Fridays are devoted to self-promotion, which is something I’m trying to be better at.  So this is where I’m going to link to what I’ve been doing around the interwebz.  And also where I’ll share something goofy with you.  See above.

So this week marked the launch of Orange the Brave, a collablog my good friend Eld founded and edits.  The blog is focused on acts of resistance and we’re hoping will eventually be a big, collaborative work featuring diverse content from a diverse group of contributors.  We’re still in very early days yet, so if you want in, now’s a great time!  Benefits include getting your work seen by a wider audience, helping to grow something awesome from scratch, and putting up a good fight against the kyriarchy.  If you’re interested in becoming a regular contributor, or even having your work featured just once or twice, shoot an email to orangethebrave@gmail(dot)com or contact me, and we’ll get the ball rolling!

In other Orange the Brave-related news, I have a new post over there called “Quick Hit: ‘Loving My Body Almost Killed Me'” about Jess Weiner’s recent article in Glamour.  In one of my more brilliant moments (they come few and far between), I dish out this tasty nugget:

The diet industry relies on shame to be profitable.  It tries to make you feel shitty enough to spend your hard-earned money on a product which, let’s face it, probably isn’t going to work anyway.  But now, they’ve got this extra ammo.  Not only are they going to make you feel ugly, they have testimony from a formerly proud fatty that says that all of that self-esteem you’ve worked so hard to earn IS GOING TO KILL YOU!!!!

I’m actually pretty proud of this piece, and am humbled by the reaction I’ve received from it.  Please note that I’ve tagged this piece with a trigger warning for the discussion of disordered eating.

And that’s really it for now!  Won’t it be exciting when I have more stuff to share?  Remember, I’m totally available for guest posting/commentating/vlogging/podcasting (I even have a decent mic for it, yo!), so you should contact me about that!

Also, remember that you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and Delicious.

Okay!  Self-promotion completed.  Hope your weekend is as precious as your Friday has been!

[Image Source]

Leave a Reply

