Super Fun Time Announcements!

8 Aug

Before I get started, let me tell you something.  Once upon a time, when I first thought about having a personal blog that would just be where I stuck all things related to myself, I imagined that a large portion of it would be devoted to telling you where else you can read my work, or how I’m jetting off to Barbados to give a lecture or something.  That was like, Megan’s fantasyland: the one where she’s like, a real live writer and has news about all of the real live writerly things she is up to.

This post… is not quite like that.  But kind of.  It would be more like the scenario described above were I getting paid to write.  Maybe I should start shaming you for donations.  HELP ME PAY MY CAR INSURANCE, YOU INTERNET INGRATES!

Ahem.  Kidding.

But I do have two things to report!  The first item is rather silly, but I started noticing a lot of incoming traffic from Tumblr, but was too lazy to actually click on the link and find out where everyone was being redirected from.  And then today, I was like, hey yeah – I’ll do that!  And it turns out, I’ve been listed on the big page that aggregates all of the Dickwolves Debacle stuff!  Now, I’ve seen this before.  It generally gets linked to any time anyone talks about Dickwolves.  And I have to grin because the author of the page decided not to add any commentary about me, because I imagine the majority of this page’s readers would disagree with me about Dickwolves.  So, that’s something I’m thankful for.

So, hello new visitors!  I hope you’ll stick around for a while!  My blog could use some comments, if you haven’t noticed.  Lurkers are my favorite people!  I love you!

On a more serious note, I finally feel ready to announce a new project that I’m working on with Eld, who is a Tumblr friend and a Twitter genius, and just generally one of my favorite people on the internet.  It was Eld’s idea to start a collaborative blog, which they’ve brilliantly named Orange the Brave, that will serve as a place for people to talk about social justice with a particular focus on intersectionality, and an open format that encouraged discussion and contributions from anyone and everyone.  We’re still ironing out details, but there are now a couple of posts published, including one from yours truly that’s a bit more autobiographical than I usually tend to go.

I’m pretty excited about this project, but what we really need is your help!  We’re actively seeking contributions to the blog in a variety of formats, from text to video to images.  Because this is still a work in progress, your feedback would be greatly appreciated.  And, if you’ve ever wanted to collaborate on a writing project, now’s your chance.  We are especially interested in giving people a platform who haven’t had much of one before, so you don’t need to be famous or established – you just need to be interested!  This is a super exciting opportunity, because we’re still in the planning phases, and this is a chance for you to help us decide on direction.  Go ahead and contact me if you’re interested in learning more, or shoot an email to orangethebrave@gmail(dot)com.

And that’s the long-winded newsy news I have for the day.  I’m pretty freaking excited, if you can’t tell.  Tomorrow, back to feminism and shit – promise.

Leave a Reply

