Your Daily Sexism Digest: For God’s Sake, GET MILK!!!!!

14 Jul

And I thought PETA was bad…

According to this NPR article by Scott Hensley, the folks responsible for the Got Milk? campaign (which was often super sexist, by the way) are at it again, and are promoting force-feeding your girlfriend milk and dairy products so she won’t be such an intolerable harpy bitch when she’s on her period.

The ad campaign’s website (“cleverly” titled everythingidoiswrong.org) is geared toward “humorously” teaching men how to predict and deal with the raging bitch ladies in their lives, and includes such helpful information as a “Key PMS Indicators Index,” a “Sensitivity Vocabulator” (which tells you to call your PMS-ing lady “passionate” rather than “irrational”), and a fake poll that suggests that menstrual women consider milk chocolate to be a color.

I could not make this shit up if I tried.

Okay, so the NPR article was largely concerned with whether or not the campaign’s claims were true, which pissed me off until I got to the end of the piece, where Hensley says:

I did my own research in the NPR newsroom and got eye rolls and worse from all the women in I asked to look at the site. “This is so wrong,” said one female colleague. “Good lord!” another one gasped as it loaded on her screen.

Right???

I really hope I don’t need to tell you how fucking sexist and offensive this is to both women and men.  I mean… seriously.

I’m thinking I should start a website that makes some sort of far-fetched claim about something or other, and then just build it all around a weak joke about how men suck at picking up after themselves, or are big babies when they’re sick, or are too stupid to rinse a plate before leaving it in the sink to get all dry and crusty, or um… I don’t know… build sexist websites.

4 Responses to “Your Daily Sexism Digest: For God’s Sake, GET MILK!!!!!”

  1. staplefix July 17, 2011 at 5:11 am #

    It is sexist, but does work as a joke. Though it’s epic fail is it’s connection to milk. Seriously, do girls even drink milk to alleviate their periods? No. We curl up into a ball, get some pills and have a little nap.

    Those mindless idiots in Ad agencies are probably unaware that periods coincide with either constipation or diarrhea. I’m sure MILK will be a big help to that.

    • Megan King July 17, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      According to the NPR article I linked to, milk and dairy products have indeed been shown to have an impact on PMS. My problem with the campaign is that it relies on old, tired stereotypes about both men and women (women are bitches once a month, men are too stupid to understand women), and it frames a problem (if one can call it that) that specifically belongs to women as a men’s problem, removing agency.

      You’re, of course, entitled to think whatever you want is funny. My issue is not with the claims that the ad campaign makes (which are admittedly weak), but with the framing of menstruation. My guess is that the Got Milk? folks were trying to parody the “dude-framing” of menstruation, but I’m not convinced that they succeeded. And I’m not the only one either. A friend on Twitter linked to a change.org petition aimed at getting the Got Milk? people to dismantle the campaign.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Heart Tiger Beatdown. I Hate Your Hashtag. « Dumping Grounds - August 2, 2011

    […]  Come on!  What, do you have sand in your vagina?  Get that sand out of your vagina, lady!  Drink some milk* to manage that PMS, for fuck’s sake, […]

  2. That Pesky Milk Board | Brass Tacks - August 6, 2011

    […] mentioned earlier this week at the end of a post that the Everything I Do Is Wrong campaign – remember, the one targeted toward guys that encouraged them to force-feed their girlfriends dairy products […]

Leave a Reply

